We have 8 guests and 1 member online
  • cojobi





Lost Password?
No account yet? Register

Whole Latte Love!

EspressoTec.Com


Baratza Inc.

Baratza.com - Creators of the Virtuoso!

Transcend Coffee

Home arrow Forum
Welcome to the CoffeeCrew forum for registered users. - feel free to make yourself at home. This forum is dedicated to coffee and espresso based issues.

Forum spammers, link referrers, link placement, scam artists, confidence artists, crooks and obvious commercial shilling is discouraged. Violation of this one simple rule will result in you and your immediate geographical region being banned from the site so do not post ads or links to your site here unless approved by me! Violators of this one simple rule will find their firm, employer, and your pitiful self invoiced $1000 per violation of this simple rule. Enjoy!

The coffeecrew guestbook and forum has been alive for more than 10 years! Please consider it your one-stop resource for finding out about all things coffee, espresso, specialty coffee and all associated gear and equipment.

We welcome long posts - there is no word limit in fact. Keep in mind that you can only type for 15 to 20 minutes in the forum-post submit window (session timeout)- so consider composing your posts or responses in a text editor - then cut and paste! Thank you and enjoy the forums!

CoffeeCrew.com Discussion Forum and Guestbook  


Fakes on Ebay - 2007/05/21 04:09 As of May 21, for your information this item is a complete fake:
230132405677

Watch out for fakes being sold by deceasedestate, thisnadtatbitsandbobs, jmt1971, pinchmyglass.
There are others spoiling the good name of Giordanno Robbiati.
Look for a protruding boiler plug at the bottom, no filter is a dead giveaway, a length wise seam on the coffee holder handle,
an almost black (should be red) frothing knob on a steel (instead of brass) shaft. The name plates are easy to reproduce. These fakes are heavier than the original and have many defects preventing the brew of a fine coffee. One thing, the tube inside the machine is placed wrong so you get at most 1 cup of java. The original parts wont fit.
Look for the words style in the sales pitch, and don't believe the fancy text. Search for the truth, ask for photos.
Frederick Nakos is the Global authority on the Atomic Espresso Coffee maker.
  | | Forum posting/replies are available to registered users.
Re:Fakes on Ebay - 2007/05/21 11:51 Thank you!

I am going to copy some of this info onto the home page.

Sadly, aspects of Ebay are turning into a moneychanging cesspool of dodgy crooks -
The World needs to know.
Colin is the Senior editor and creator of the CoffeeCrew.Com Website
  | | Forum posting/replies are available to registered users.
Re:Fakes on Ebay - 2007/05/21 16:14 EBAY # 270120679620 also looks a little questionable -
It appears to be an Indian Repro from last year...
In fact, it could be a brand new Repro.

12 hours left on this item at it is at 300$

Amazing since you can buy a new one for 50$ from India.
Solid profit there.
Colin is the Senior editor and creator of the CoffeeCrew.Com Website
  | | Forum posting/replies are available to registered users.
Re:Fakes on Ebay - 2007/05/21 16:27 Yes My captain, if thou has taken time to read up above, jmt1971 doth hath a fake for sale. the word style is a ringer....
made in the 80's my....foot! Irepeat and will go on repeating: Giordanno does not deserve this type of flattery. Buyers beware, the original ATOMIC is amasterpiece, the low fakes are not. But, but, but...the sceptics would ask, aluminum is aluminum....wrong my troups of eager Grasshopers, the design is much more than skin deep..
Frederick Nakos is the Global authority on the Atomic Espresso Coffee maker.
  | | Forum posting/replies are available to registered users.
Re:Fakes on Ebay - 2007/05/23 11:15 frederick wrote:
As of May 21, for your information this item is a complete fake:
230132405677



230132405677 is for sale again...

Oddly... still a fake.
  | | Forum posting/replies are available to registered users.
Re:Fakes on Ebay - 2007/05/23 11:41 Thanks Atomic Police Man....
This item does run for 7 days, there are still 3 days left as of May 23rd.
Upon my "suggestion" the vendor changed his wording. It use to say: "Genuine vintage".
He had no filter then. Seems like he found it, yet he doesn't have it.....
There will be shortly on this site pictures of the differences between the real article and the poor copy. Those are only skin deep. The truth is, the poor copy does not perform as well by a long shot due to internal differences. When you will see the mess that is the coffee filter on the copy, you will appreciate the good design of the genuine article.
Frederick Nakos is the Global authority on the Atomic Espresso Coffee maker.
  | | Forum posting/replies are available to registered users.
Re:Fakes on Ebay - 2007/05/23 12:27 Ow! My brain hurts.

So Venerable Master, what's the scoop on ebay item 130115560186?

To my untutored eyes the boiler plug looks right, the seam on the handle looks right, and the requisite star pattern appears on the screen. Yet the steam knob is black.

Is it a real Atomic with a knob that's been replaced, or am I totally off base?

Robb
  | | Forum posting/replies are available to registered users.
Re:Fakes on Ebay - 2007/05/23 12:50 Ahhh Zazenmasterobb....
This truly is a dignified example of a late 60's first color ATOMIC !
You have to step your mind back and recall the colors in fashion zen.
Porsches with a mere $10 000 price tag, were this dynamite yellow in 1968, followed by Fiats or perhaps the other way around. In style were those vinyl covered slices of foam masquarading as living room sofas. The vinyl also sported deep red and oranges. This, with the zen fashionable pills did make for a rosy living style albeit somewhat uncomfortable...But zen again through purple glasses and half a pound of beads around your neck, who gave a damn?
Thus, this is orange red. The frothing knob is absolutely correct and it only came in BLACK with this model.A red frothing knob just doesn't look right. It was ONLY imported to that big island, the Auster something...it NEVER had that stupid wand to block the filter and all those I have seen has a BON label that is very fragile. This example is in mint shape with nary a scratch on the boiler bottom. I do thinketh that perhaps the vendor went kaplui and used Armor All on it to make it "splashier". As soon as the lucky buyer gets it: soap and water is a MUST. Armor All has a tendency to dry up the plastic surfaces it touches. While we are on the subject, my mind goes blank as the necessity of star shape holes in the filter. Sure a Texan sheriff badge is nice for those who enjoy DISCIPLINE and other leather type things...I digress, ALL ATOMICS have them, the normal filters with orderly holes in line à la Rocquettes, are much rarer. Please, it is good to have the beloved Steaming Silver Chalice on a pedestal, but......30 feet high? Ummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm......Ummmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Frederick Nakos is the Global authority on the Atomic Espresso Coffee maker.
  | | Forum posting/replies are available to registered users.
Re:Fakes on Ebay - 2007/05/23 21:00 I am as a frog at the bottom of well! I should have realized that no self-respecting Italian would match red with orange ... because they clash!

Thank you.

  | | Forum posting/replies are available to registered users.
How is the current economic crisis effecting your coffee habits?
 
Powered by Joomlaboard

EspressoTop50.com